Captain Beefheart

SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 TO 1972

Rhino Records

In the legendary Captain Beefheart discography, attention usually focuses on the carefully wrought, experimental music heard on Trout Mask Replica. As a consequence, the three stellar albums recorded soon after—Lick My Decals Off, Baby, The Spotlight Kid, and Clear Spot—are often overlooked.

Rhino intends to change that with a limited edition four-disc collection that revisits the albums Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet) recorded with the Magic Band in the early Seventies. It includes all three albums, which have been remastered for the first time, as well as an entire disc featuring 14 previously unissued outtakes from that era. SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 to 1972will be available on November 17 for a suggested list price of $59.98 on four CDs and $99.98 on four LPs. The set will also be available digitally.

Recorded over a couple of weeks in the summer of 1970 at United Recording Group in Hollywood, Lick My Decals Off, Baby was released the following October. One of Van Vliet’s favorites, the album represents the apex of his dissonant style and includes such standout tracks as the quirky-funny “I Love You, You Big Dummy” and the exquisite solo guitar piece “One Red Rose That I Mean.”

It was followed by The Spotlight Kid, which was recorded at The Record Plant in Los Angeles during the summer of 1971. It features a more barebones, blues-rock sound on songs like “Click Clack,” “I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby” and “Alice In Blunderland.” Lester Bangs wrote in Rolling Stone (March ’72) that Beefheart had struck the balance between “intensely personal type of statement” and “mass appeal,” praising the album for its “wit and genius.

Soon after, Clear Spot was released. Recorded in the summer of 1972, the albumintroduced several standout tracks, such as the vulnerable love song “My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains,” the soul ballad “Too Much Time,” and the pulsing “Big Eyed Beans from Venus.”

The fourth and final disc in SUN ZOOM SPARK includes 14 unreleased tracks and is a trove of alternate versions, rehearsals and outtakes from the sessions for The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot. The disc reveals just how much some songs evolved before being released. Among the highlights are a sung-version of “I Can’t Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam,” which became a spoken-word performance on Bat Chain Puller; a raucous, off-kilter version of “Dirty Blue Gene” that pointed the way to the final version on Doc at the Radar Station; and an instrumental rehearsal of “The Witch Doctor Life” that is nearly unrecognizable compared to the version heard on 1982’s Ice Cream For Crow.

SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 to 1972

Track Listing

Lick My Decals Off, Baby (October 1970)

  1. “Lick My Decals Off, Baby”
  2. “Doctor Dark”
  3. “I Love You, You Big Dummy”
  4. “Peon”
  5. “Bellerin’ Plain”
  6. “Woe-Is-uh-Me-Bop”
  7. “Japan in a Dishpan”
  8. “I Wanna Find a Woman That’ll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go”
  9. “Petrified Forest”
  10. “One Red Rose That I Mean”
  11. “The Buggy Boogie Woogie”
  12. “The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)”
  13. “Space-Age Couple”
  14. “The Clouds Are Full of Wine (not Whiskey or Rye)”
  15. “Flash Gordon’s Ape”

The Spotlight Kid (January 1972)

  1. “I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby”
  2. “White Jam”
  3. “Blabber ‘n Smoke”
  4. “When It Blows Its Stacks”
  5. “Alice in Blunderland”
  6. “The Spotlight Kid”
  7. “Click Clack”
  8. “Grow Fins”
  9. “There Ain’t No Santa Claus on the Evenin’ Stage”
  10. “Glider”

Clear Spot (November 1972)

  1. “Low Yo Yo Stuff”
  2. “Nowadays a Woman’s Gotta Hit a Man”
  3. “Too Much Time”
  4. “Circumstances”
  5. “My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains”
  6. “Sun Zoom Spark”
  7. “Clear Spot”
  8. “Crazy Little Thing”
  9. “Long Neck Bottles”
  10. “Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles”
  11. “Big Eyed Beans from Venus”
  12. “Golden Birdies”


  1. “Alice in Blunderland” – Alternate Version
  2. “Harry Irene”
  3. “I Can’t Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam”
  4. “Pompadour Swamp/Suction Prints”
  5. “The Witch Doctor Life” – Instrumental Take
  6. “Two Rips in a Haystack/Kiss Me My Love”
  7. “Best Batch Yet” – (Track) Version 1
  8. “Your Love Brought Me To Life” – Instrumental
  9. “Dirty Blue Gene” – Alternate Version 1
  10. “Nowadays a Woman’s Gotta Hit a Man” – Early Mix
  11. “Kiss Where I Kain’t”
  12. “Circumstances” – Alternate Version 2
  13. “Little Scratch”
  14. “Dirty Blue Gene” – Alternate Version 3



The Syndicate Acquires Sneak Attack Media

Sneak Attack is excited to announce that we’ve been acquired by entertainment marketing agency The Syndicate and will serve as the company’s digital marketing department. Read all about it in Billboard and please visit us at The Syndicate’s website: We look forward to continue to work with all of our amazing clients from within The Syn…

Read more

The future of influencer marketing

Recently Sneak Attack prez Marni Wandner spoke at the Music Ally Sandbox Summit conference in New York. The conference brought music industry leaders, together to discuss the future of digital music marketing. One of the main themes of the conference was the rise in influencer marketing. Viral Nation co-founder Joe Gagliese described influencer marketing as “It’s like hiring your best…

Read more

Sandbox Summit 2018 | NYC #MarketMusicBetter

Learn how to market your music better. Music Ally presents Sandbox Summit NYC; a mix of presentations, panel discussion sessions, and top tips sessions from music industry leaders. On Wednesday, April 25th, 2018 Music Ally will be hosting Spotify, UMG, mTheory, and more at this single day conference. Join Sneak Attack founder Marni Wandner alongside some awesome folks from…

Read more

Drinking Data: Panel at SXSW

We’re pleased to present our panel at SXSW, Drinking Data: Principles of Human-Based Marketing on Friday March 16 at 5pm at the Austin Convention Center. Join Sneak Attack founder and president Marni Wandner, Jenni Sperandeo of Dangerbird Records, Aaron Ford of  The Orchard, and Graham Garner of Sphere Insight for their chat about how to make…

Read more

Speakeasy: Music + Tech Mixer in Austin

Join this year’s Austin edition Speakeasy: Music + Tech Mixer with Sneak Attack Media and special guests Music Ally, Lucky Hound Music, DISCO and Endless Riff.  We’re pleased to join FLOOD Magazine‘s FLOODfest again at Cedar Street Courtyard. Come grab a beer with some incredibly awesome folks in the music + music tech industries. More info and RSVP here

Read more

Free Artist Consultation for Indie Musicians!

Attention independent musicians located in NYC: our digital distribution friends at Tunecore will be hosting an Artist Consultation roundtable on March 1 in Brooklyn, and we’re super excited to be a part of it. Join Sneak Attack founder Marni Wandner alongside some phenomenal folks from Spotify, Chart Room Media , Momentum Worldwide and Audiomack for a great…

Read more