Joni Mitchell

Love Has Many Faces

November 24, 2014

Rhino Records

Joni Mitchell’s new four-disc boxed set Love Has Many Faces was first conceived as the music to a ballet about love. But after spending 18 months trying to distill everything she’d written about love—and the lack of it—down to a single disc, the influential singer-songwriter abandoned the ballet. “I wanted the music to feel like a total work—a new work. No matter what I did, though, at that length, it remained merely a collection of songs,” she writes in the set’s liner notes.

Undaunted, Mitchell did not give up. Instead, she continued to sequence her songs, determined to prove to herself that what she was after was possible. After two years, she had created a four-act ballet based on the 53 songs that make up this inspiring collection. “I am a painter who writes songs. My songs are very visual. The words create scenes…What I have done here is to gather some of these scenes (like a documentary filmmaker) and by juxtaposition, edit them into a whole new work,” the artist writes.

The result is an artist-curated collection titled Love Has Many Faces. Mitchell selected the material from 40 years of recording and designed the package, which contains 53 lyrical poems, six new paintings, and an autobiographical text illuminating her recording process.

Mitchell organized the music into different thematic acts, which allowed her songs to interact with one another in a whole new way. The process, she says, was a lot like making a film. “I had forty years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form. Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before—crammed into one disc—themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there…When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet—a quartet. I also had a box set.”

Long time listeners should find the music familiar but fresh. There has been a lot of sonic adjustment. Newcomers to this music have an adventure before them – a journey into highly-original, harmonically innovative, unusually rhythmic music. Some of the greatest musicians in the world are gathered here – supporting this emotionally charged exploration of love’s many faces.

Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to Be Danced Tracklist

Disc 1
1. “In France They Kiss On Main Street”
2. “Ray’s Dad’s Cadillac”
3. “You Turn Me On I’m A Radio”
4. “Harlem In Havana”
5. “Car On a Hill”
6. “Dancin Clown”
7. “River”
8. “Chinese Cafe/Unchained Melody”
9. “Harry’s House/Centerpiece”
10. “Shades of Scarlett Conquering”
11. “Number One”
12. “The Windfall (Everything For Nothing) ”
13. “Come In From the Cold”

Disc 2
1. “Court and Spark”
2. “No Apologies”
3. “Trouble Child”
4. “Not to Blame”
5. “Nothing Can Be Done”
6. “Comes Love”
7. “Moon At the Window”
8. “Blue”
9. “Tax Free”
10. “The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey”
11. “Hana”
12. “Hejira”
13. “Stay In Touch”
14. “Night Ride Home”

Disc 3
1. “You’re My Thrill”
2. “The Crazy Cries of Love”
3. “Love Puts On a New Face”
4. “Borderline”
5. “A Strange Boy”
6. “You Dream Flat Tires”
7. “Love”
8. “All I Want”
9. “Be Cool”
10. “Yvette In English”
11. “Just Like This Train”
12. “Carey”
13. “The Only Joy In Town”

Disc 4
1. “Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter”
2. “Two Grey Rooms”
3. “God Must Be a Boogie Man”
4. “Down To You”
5. “A Case of You”
6. “The Last Time I Saw Richard”
7. “Raised on Robbery”
8. “Sweet Sucker Dance”
9. “Lakota”
10. “Cool Water”
11. “Amelia”
12. “Both Sides Now”
13. “My Best To You”



The Syndicate Acquires Sneak Attack Media

Sneak Attack is excited to announce that we’ve been acquired by entertainment marketing agency The Syndicate and will serve as the company’s digital marketing department. Read all about it in Billboard and please visit us at The Syndicate’s website: We look forward to continue to work with all of our amazing clients from within The Syn…

Read more

The future of influencer marketing

Recently Sneak Attack prez Marni Wandner spoke at the Music Ally Sandbox Summit conference in New York. The conference brought music industry leaders, together to discuss the future of digital music marketing. One of the main themes of the conference was the rise in influencer marketing. Viral Nation co-founder Joe Gagliese described influencer marketing as “It’s like hiring your best…

Read more

Sandbox Summit 2018 | NYC #MarketMusicBetter

Learn how to market your music better. Music Ally presents Sandbox Summit NYC; a mix of presentations, panel discussion sessions, and top tips sessions from music industry leaders. On Wednesday, April 25th, 2018 Music Ally will be hosting Spotify, UMG, mTheory, and more at this single day conference. Join Sneak Attack founder Marni Wandner alongside some awesome folks from…

Read more

Drinking Data: Panel at SXSW

We’re pleased to present our panel at SXSW, Drinking Data: Principles of Human-Based Marketing on Friday March 16 at 5pm at the Austin Convention Center. Join Sneak Attack founder and president Marni Wandner, Jenni Sperandeo of Dangerbird Records, Aaron Ford of  The Orchard, and Graham Garner of Sphere Insight for their chat about how to make…

Read more

Speakeasy: Music + Tech Mixer in Austin

Join this year’s Austin edition Speakeasy: Music + Tech Mixer with Sneak Attack Media and special guests Music Ally, Lucky Hound Music, DISCO and Endless Riff.  We’re pleased to join FLOOD Magazine‘s FLOODfest again at Cedar Street Courtyard. Come grab a beer with some incredibly awesome folks in the music + music tech industries. More info and RSVP here

Read more

Free Artist Consultation for Indie Musicians!

Attention independent musicians located in NYC: our digital distribution friends at Tunecore will be hosting an Artist Consultation roundtable on March 1 in Brooklyn, and we’re super excited to be a part of it. Join Sneak Attack founder Marni Wandner alongside some phenomenal folks from Spotify, Chart Room Media , Momentum Worldwide and Audiomack for a great…

Read more